Many think a successful conviction for a crime ends in the same penalties across the board, but that is not true. Due to unclear laws and circumstantial sentences, the American justice system is more subjective then most people realize. Today, we will look at the potential penalties of a Florida domestic violence case and talk about the factors that impact the final sentence.
Minimum Penalties for Florida Domestic Violence
The following is a minimum penalty for a conviction of domestic violence including bodily harm:
- A minimum of 5 days in county jail for a first-time offense involving bodily harm
Potential Penalties for Florida Domestic Violence
The potential penalties for Florida domestic violence cases vary drastically due to Florida’s laws. Under the law, a domestic violence case can be charged as another criminal offense depending on the circumstances surrounding the situation.
For example, a threat of physical harm could be charged as assault, while actual contact could be charged as battery. An assault charge is a second-degree misdemeanor, while the battery charge is a first-degree misdemeanor. Although the terms may not seem different, the potential penalties are: let’s compare them now.
Potential penalties for a second-degree misdemeanor:
- Imprisonment for up to 60 days;
- Fine of up to $500.
Potential penalties for a first-degree misdemeanor:
- Imprisonment for up to one year;
- Fine of up to $1,000.
It is important to note some charges (like aggravated assault and aggravated battery) could result in felony convictions. Felony convictions are much more severe than misdemeanor convictions, as they can lead to multiple years of imprisonment.
As you can see, domestic violence cases can end in a variety of ways, which makes for numerous potential penalties. If you or a loved one have been charged with domestic violence, getting experienced criminal defense is crucial for your case. Regardless of the circumstances, Hager & Schwartz, P.A. is here to help!
Call (386) 693-1637 now for a free consultation.