If you have been accused of shoplifting in Florida, you are likely wondering what will happen next. Despite shoplifting often being considered quirky or fun in popular culture, it is still considered theft in the state’s eyes and can result in fines or even jail time. While Florida laws primarily focus on theft in the retail industry, understanding the severity of shoplifting of any kind is crucial.
Florida’s Shoplifting Laws
Shoplifting - or more broadly, theft - is broken down into two categories in Florida law: grand and petty theft. As you can probably assume, grand theft includes the larger ticket items, while petty theft usually applies to a few hundred dollars or less.
If caught shoplifting in Florida, you could potentially face these punishments:
- Third Degree Grand Theft Charge: for items that cost $300-$20,000, you could face up to five years in jail or a fine up to $5000.
- First Degree Petty Theft: for items costing between $100 and $300, you can be fined up to $1000 or face a year in jail.
- Second Degree Petty Theft: for items that cost less than $100, you could be fined up to $500 and face six months in jail.
These charges may also be more severe if you already have a criminal record for shoplifting or otherwise.
How a Lawyer Can Help
Consulting a lawyer when charged with any crime is crucial. In the case of shoplifting, seeking legal counsel can help you pursue a lesser charge or convince the court to opt for rehabilitation programs if the offender is a minor. As usual, it may be smart for you to consult with a lawyer before speaking to the police.
Contact Our Volusia Criminal Defense Attorneys - (386) 693-1637
If you or a loved one has been charged with shoplifting, contact a member of our team to discuss your case. Hager & Schwartz, P.A. will work tirelessly to provide the best defense.