Misdemeanor Attorney Daytona Beach, FL
Florida Misdemeanor Laws & Penalties
There are two different types of criminal offenses: misdemeanors and felonies. Felonies are generally considered the more serious type of offense, while misdemeanors tend to be less serious with lighter penalties and consequences. If you find yourself facing a misdemeanor offense, the lighter nature of these cases doesn’t mean you should ignore the charges. You must take the accusations against you seriously. A misdemeanor can have serious consequences that affect your life, your career, your relationships, and your future. That is why you should reach out and retain counsel from a Daytona Beach misdemeanor attorney as soon as possible.
At Hager & Schwartz, P.A., our Daytona Beach misdemeanor lawyers understand how tumultuous and life-changing criminal accusations can be. We are not afraid to stand by your side and fight for you when prosecution seeks a conviction in your case. Our attorneys develop hard-hitting, personalized defense strategies that put your best interests first. Hager & Schwartz, P.A. is a powerful ally to have in your corner, and our trial-tested methods have earned us a reputation for success.
Call our Daytona Beach misdemeanor attorneys today at (386) 693-1637 for an initial consultation.
Second-Degree Misdemeanor Penalties in Volusia County
Much as there are two types of criminal offenses, there are two types of misdemeanor offenses. Misdemeanors of the second degree are the less-serious of the misdemeanor offenses, carrying lighter penalties and fewer long-term consequences. In fact, for first-time offenders, a conviction may not warrant jail time depending on the nature of the crime.
Florida Statutes Sections 775.081, 775.082, and 775.083 define the following penalties for second-degree misdemeanors:
- Up to 60 days in jail
- Up to $500 in fines
Misdemeanors of the second degree can also include other potential consequences. For example, a prostitution offense may still require the convicted individual to register as a sex offender.
First-Degree Misdemeanors Penalties in Volusia County
Misdemeanors of the first degree are the more serious of the two types of misdemeanor offenses. These cases generally have a lot more at stake, as jail sentences can be significantly longer and it is far more common for this penalty to be on the table for first-time offenders. However, these cases are still usually eligible for either expungement or record sealing after the fact, provided you qualify.
Florida Statutes Sections 775.082 and 775.083 define the following penalties for first-degree misdemeanors:
- Up to one year in jail
- Up to $1,000 in fines
Begin Building a Defense for Your Misdemeanor Charges in FL
Before facing the prosecution, seek counsel from a trusted Daytona Beach misdemeanor attorney. A conviction or guilty verdict can have tremendous consequences on your life, and there is too much at stake to risk defending yourself. Instead, turn to the team at Hager & Schwartz, P.A.
Get help with your misdemeanor case by calling our Daytona Beach misdemeanor lawyers at (386) 693-1637 today.
I thoroughly recommend Brett Schwartz as a defense attorney.
“I thoroughly recommend Brett Schwartz as a defense attorney. He worked tirelessly and relentlessly to get my case dropped even before it went to trial. He succeeded, although the odds were heavily stacked against us.”
Should you ever need a defense attorney, he is the person to contact.
“I was referred to Brett Schwartz by a friend facing very serious charges. He was very understanding and also very honest, walked us through the process of what could happen from beginning to end best case scenario and of course worst case scenario.”
If you need help go see Brett!
“We worked with Brett on a domestic violence charge. He was the third lawyer we went to and we FINALLY got the result we desired. His knowledge of the law, the system and straightforwardness are beyond impressive.”