Are Fireworks Legal in Daytona Beach?
July 4, 2019
Music Festivals & Criminal Defense
August 12, 2019

Potential Charges for Buying Alcohol for Minors

By Hager & Schwartz, P.A.

July 9, 2019

Many people believe alcohol is what makes a party a party, and many teenagers would agree. However, minors have a hard time getting their hands-on drinks without the help of adults. Unfortunately, when an adult decides to help minors get booze, they often don’t realize how much trouble they could get into.

Buying Alcohol for a Florida Minor

As stated in the Florida statutes, “A person may not sell, give, serve, or permit to be served alcoholic beverages to a person under 21 years of age or permit a person under 21 years of age to consume such beverages on the licensed premises.”

Therefore, an adult who buys alcohol and gives it to a minor will be accused of this crime. If someone is accused and convicted of giving alcohol to a minor, prosecutors will charge him with a second-degree misdemeanor.

A second-degree misdemeanor can result in the following penalties:

  • a potential term of imprisonment not exceeding 60 days; and/or
  • a fine of $500.

Additionally, the court may order the department of motor vehicles to withhold the issuance of or suspend or revoke the license of the accused for not less than three months or more than six months for a first-time violation.

Charged with Buying Alcohol for Minors?

If you or a loved one is charged with giving alcohol to minors, you’ll want experienced criminal defense on your case. Hager & Schwartz is a Volusia criminal defense firm that is ready to defend your rights and your freedom.

Call (386) 693-1637 now for an immediate consultation for your case!